When you’re no longer Dad.

I don’t know if this is a phase, I don’t know if this is a sign of things to come, but my son has stopped referring to me as “dad”.
My son has started referring to me as “bud”. There’s actually some reasoning to this that goes back a bit. A few years ago my son did not like to get his haircut, and he really did not like getting it cut with me, or I should say he did not like getting it cut at the barber shop that I went to for my haircuts. I can’t say that I blame him, till this day I still don’t like getting haircuts but I realize it’s necessary. So in an attempt to get my son to go willingly with me on our bimonthly haircut trip. I would tell him a few days in advance, telling him that it was just he and I spending time together. We’d go to breakfast first, and after our haircuts, we’d bring back breakfast for my wife and daughter. We’d always leave the house around 7:45 – 8:00, because both my son and I are early risers, and we’d start off. After a few trips this was actually starting quell his anxiety about his haircut, my son was getting used to getting a haircut at the barber shop. Additionally, he was getting to spend a few hours just with me, no mom or sister, just ‘me and you’ as he’d later tell me. I think he really liked the time that he and I spent together, I think he liked it so much that he started referring to it as “Best Buddy Day”. Where two best buddies would go, eat breakfast, get a haircut, then come home with breakfast for everyone else.
Fast forward a year or so, he has started to refer to me as his buddy. Now when my son needs something, he will always start his question with “Hey Buddy….”. This “Hey Buddy” got shortened into “Hey Bud”, after just a few weeks. Now if I’m sitting on the couch or at the kitchen table, when my son enters the room he’ll acknowledge my presence by saying “Hey Bud”. Not only does his acknowledge my presence this way, but he’s start questions with this as well. The latest incarnation of our salutations reminds me of the old Pauly Shore act, where Pauly would often break up single syllable words into to multiple syllable words, where “Bud” would be pronounced “Bu-u-uuu-dd”. This has now started, I don’t know where it’s going, but I actually like it. I’ve got a “Bud”, he may only be 6 years old, but we’re the best of buds.

 

Leave a Reply

