Work

There’s a really weird vibe at work these days. I’m not sure what’s going on, but I can say that it’s related to the economy, and it’s related to our company’s down turn in sales. When the company was doing really well, about 24 months ago, the feelings of uncertainty were not there. Now after mandatory pay cuts, and rumors of layoffs coming, and conflicting messages from upper management I’m not really sure what’s going on.

I’m sure that I’m not the first person to have these feelings about their job, but I get the feeling it may be time to start to think about moving on, after 12+ years at the company, this is not going to be an easy decision. Moving on has it’s postive benefits, as well as it’s downsides. First, having a job now, I can be selective in looking for a new one where I wouldn’t have to take the first one that was offered to me, being a little selective about location. Secondly, if I were to find something I wouldn’t have to take it, I could make a decision on whether I actually wanted to make the job change.

Things I’d like to change about my current job. First, I want to get out of the retail sector. Too volitaile, and as of late there has not been enough of the upside that comes with the cylical nature of this business. Location, I’d love to get close to home. I currently live 40 miles from my office. Not far enough to justify moving closer, but just far enough away to be a nuicance. I’d love to find a job less than 10 miles from home. Hours, although I currently put in about 10 hours a day, 7:30 – 5:30, this coupled with the hour commute each way is starting to take it’s toll on me. It would be awesome if I could find something about 10 minutes away, where the hours were a standard 8 hour day. I’m not afraid of putting in long hours, however, if I was looking for the perfect job, this would be a requirement. I’d love to be able to see my kids off to school, or be able to wait for them as they got home from school, but that’s for this vision of utopia I have.

We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

