What I’m thankful for.

In talking with my kids earlier this week the topic of Thanksgiving came up. My wife had asked the kids what they were thankful for, it got me thinking about the topic myself. Naturally, the kids asked my wife and I what we were thankful for. I explained to them, that I was most thankful to have the people that lived in my house as a part of my life. I have two wonderful children and they make being a parent a true pleasure, but I wanted to expand on the list of what I was thankful for since there’s so much more I was truly thankful for than just the people in the house.

First, I’m thankful for my wife. I’m thankful that she is so vigilant in raising our children, and she is so selfless in her care of the kids as well as addressing the day to day things, such as Doctor appointments, and calls to the teachers, and health insurance companies. For example she makes their lunches for school every day without complaint (except that the kids are so unwilling to try new foods), she does her best to see that the kids are provided with a well rounded lunch. My wife does an awesome job, and it seems that sometimes I don’t give her proper recognition for all that she does for our children. I’m also greatful to my wife becuse she’s understanding when it comes to my job. There have been times when I’ve had to call her and say that I’m running late in coming home, which have sometimes been followed up with another phone call where I’m telling her that I’m going to be really, really late. She doesn’t give me grief about this, which is so helpful. It allows me to concentrate on the problems and work without having to worry about getting grief about being late for dinner, or missing dinner altogether. There have been times where I’ve had to bail out on plans we’ve made because something has come up at work and she’s been completely supportive, often telling me that she feels bad for me because I’ve put so much time in there. She does so much for all of us, and asks for so little in return.

I’m thankful for my children. They are two of the sweetest kids I’ve ever met. Every day when I get home from work, I am greeted with hugs and kisses, and I can tell that they are both happy to see me arrive at the end of my day. This makes my hour long commute much easier, and I actually look forward to seeing them at the end of a stressful day. I’m so hopeful that I can maintain this relationship when my kids are older. My kids appear to really appreciate what they have in life. As an example, this morning I ran to the supermarket and I was going to stop at Dunkin Donuts for coffee. I had asked my son if he had wanted anything, and after some deliberation we decided that I was going to pickup some hot chocolate and munchkins for a breakfast snack. While I was out at the store, my son had told my daughter that I was picking up hot chocolate and munchkins, my daughter’s response was ‘this breakfast keeps getting better’, showing me that she really appreciates the little things we do for them.

I’m thankful that I have a job. Work has been strange lately with everyone on edge, sales being down, every is unsure about their future in this economy. However, I’m thankful that I’m not forced to look for another job at this time, although I’m giving some serious thought to looking for a new job, as of right now I can do this on my terms.

I’m thankful that I have a house. This was something that my Mom had always instilled in my when I was a kid. She would always reinforce that we should be greatfull that we had somewhere that kept us warm when it was cold out, and somewhere to keep us dry when it rained. I used to get annoyed when my Mom would keep reminding my brother and I as to how lucky we were, however, I find myself doing this with my kids too. I get the impression that my kids do appreciate it more than I did when I was their age. I can not say how much I love owning a house, despite the stress that comes with ownership and despite the fact that this is probably not the ideal house for us, it is nice to come home after a long day at work and be able to sit on my aging couch and just know that while I’m home I am in my sanctuary, regardless of how small and cramped it seems to be at times. It’s also nice that I have somewhere I can call my own, and when I’m not feeling well my recover is always aided by being in my house.

I’m thankful that I can afford to have some luxuries in my life. Although I would appreciate just having the basics in life and do realize that I’m fortunate to have what I do, there are somethings that I’m thankful to have that are not necessities. First, would be having two cars. Although the car I drive on a daily basis is a 10 year old Honda, it’s been reliable and gets me to work and home every day accumulating 25,000 miles a year. While my wife drives the newer car, just the fact that we have two cars makes our lives so much easier giving us added flexabilty. Then there are the ancillary things that I’m thankful to have. Cellphones, cable television, game consoles, iPods, DVD’s, CD’s, and computers are all things that make life more interesting, convenient, and at times more fun.

There are so many things that I’m thankful for and I could go on forever on how fortunate my family and I are.

This is what I’m thankful for.

Leave a Reply

