‘Tis the season, and then it’s over.

My favorite time of the year is from the day before Thanksgiving, until the week after Christmas. During this period it seems like things at work are slowed down a bit, there’s the added benefit of 4 day weekends, vacation, plus everyone seems to be in a better mood; myself included.

Having kids I try to take off either the week preceding Christmas or the week after depending on workload, I usually try to alter this time off every other year. This year, I took off the 3 days prior to Christmas when combined with our company’s holidays, I was off that entire week. I must admit it was nice to have off and spend some time with the kids, watching the Christmas excitement build on their eyes. It would have been better if we didn’t receive 24 inches of snow that week, and it would have been ever better if I wasn’t sick with killer sinus headaches and a nagging couch. But nonetheless, I was grateful for that time off.

Now that New Years has passed, it’s time for all of this celebration to come to an end. The kids go back to school this coming Monday, and at work it officially is the start of our project season. I’m counting down the hours until I go back to work, trying to relish ever last remaining minute of time before the return to work, serious work. We have some ambitous schedules ahead of us, and I look forward to being able to get some real work done, not just patch work. With everyone back from their vacations, it’ll be full steam ahead.

Here’s hoping that 2010 is a happy and healthy year.

Leave a Reply

